The 7 Chakras

chakra systemThe 7 Chakras are the main energy centers in our body in which energy flows through.
 you cannot see or feel them but are energetically present. Blockedenergy in our 7 Chakras can often lead to illness so it’s important to understand what each Chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely. Their name derives fro

m the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “turning“, but in yogic context a better translation of the word is ‘vortex or whirlpool’. Each chakra is connected to our being on several different levels: physical, emotional, mental and spiritual and govern certain internal organs.

Here’s a quick summary:


Chakra 1. Root Chakra (Base of spine) – Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.

Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food, stability & security.

Chakra 2. Sacral Chakra (below belly button) – Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences and express our creativity.

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.

Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality, creativity, enthusiasm.

Chakra 3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives. Personal power.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

Chakra 4. Heart Chakra – Our ability to love unconditionally.

Location: Center of chest just above heart.

Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace, rejection, compassion.

Chakra 5. Throat Chakra – Our ability to communicate our truth.

Location: Throat.

Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth, independence.

Chakra 6. Third Eye Chakra (between eyebrows) Balancing the higher and lower selves and trusting inner guidance.

Location: Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)

Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.

Chakra 7. Crown Chakra The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

Location: The very top of the head.

Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, wisdom our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.